Instapot Quick & Easy Shrimp Fried Rice

...Inspred by Mimi’s Homemade food 🙂 ….

Ingredients

Basmati Rice – 1 cup (wash and drain)

Vegetable – 3 cups chopped

Small Shrmp – 1-2 cups (I had this 12oz packet). Vegeterians probably can sustitute with Tofu or Soya chunks. I havent tried that.

Szechuan Sauce, Soya Sauce, Balsamic Vinegar

Butter – 1-2 tbsp (Optional). I didn’t use it this time.

Water – 3/4 cup

Black Pepper, Fried Onions, Cilantro, Salt.

Directions:

Wash and Drain Basmati Rice.

Chop Veggies. I am addingmore to have more veggie. You can change quantity. I take whatver is available. You can add as much as you want. See pic for quantity. In this batch, I added beans, carrots, onion, Brussel spouts, Broccoli, Green Chilli(to your taste), Garlic 3 pods, Bell Pepper. Celery will work well too

Thaw Shrimp, and marinate with Soy Sauce 1tbsp, Szechuan Sauce 1 tbsp, Salt and Black pepper. I do this first, as it sits in the sauces, for few minutes, while I prepare veggies. (Like I mentioned earlier, Vegeterians can skip shrimp -or- probably sustitute with Tofu or Soya chunks. I havent tried that.)

Saute veggies in little bit oil. Add little black pepper, Soy sauce 1-2 tbsp. Saute for only 2-3 minutes, as it gets additional cooking time in the instapot.

Add Sauted Veggies, Marinated Shrimp, Rice, water. Add little extra Salt just for the rice as we already added salt for other ingredients. Add 1 tbsp Balsamic Vinegar, mix well. Turn Instapot ON, I set that up for 4 minutes pressure cook time. When time is up, let the cooker go into keep warm mode, and count 10 minutes. Then press cancel and twist the steam release handle on the lid to venting position and open the lid.. mix with a fork.

While serving you can sprinkle some fried Onions on top (optional). May be some nuts too (haven’t tried that yet).

Optional Eggs: If you like to add eggs, you can scramble some eggs and stir fry the fried rice. Or you can add a fried egg on top while serving.

Note: You can reduce rice, skip butter, and add more veggies if you want to make it more healthy. Planning to try with Quinoa someday instead of rice.

Disclaimer: I didn’t measure Sauces, black pepper, Salt etc. Just use your imgination and add according to your taste. 🙂

Leave a comment